Yanbian University

Yanbian University is one of the key universities of the People’s Republic of China, located at Yanji, Yanbian Korean Autonomous Prefecture, Jilin Province. It is a Chinese state Double First Class University, included in the Double First Class University Plan.


The university offers eleven programs in economics, philosophy, law, pedagogy, literature, history, science, engineering, agriculture, medicine and management. It consists of twelve colleges, which offer 70 bachelor’s degree programs, 78 master’s degree programs and 22 doctoral degree programs.


In 2004, the student body included 16,000 undergraduates, 3,000 postgraduates, 143 doctoral candidates, 700 foreign students and 4,674 adult students. Most foreign students come from South Korea, Japan, the United States and Russia. The faculty comprises 1,300 full-time teachers of whom 700 are professors and associate professors.

International cooperation

The university is affiliated with major universities in South Korea as well as some academic institutions in North Korea.