Kookmin University

Kookmin University (Korean국민대학교, IPA:[ˈkʊkminˈtæhɑːkkjo]; Hanja國民大學校) is the first private university after the liberation of the Republic of Korea from Japan. The campus is located in Seongbuk-gu, Seoul, South Korea. The KMU was established in 1946. Gu kim, Soang Jo and Ikhee Shin, who were the cabinet members of the Provisional Government of the Republic of Korea, agreed to train great leaders for the Republic of Korea. Soon, they became the banner of Kookmin University. Ikhee Shin contributed to play a key role in its foundation and was inaugurated as the First President of the University.

In 1959, the SsangYong Group bought the university to support researches and to expand the university curriculum. 22,000 colleagues are studying at the university, and 350 administrative staff are working at the university’s 800 faculties. Since its establishment in 1946, approximately 60,000 students have graduated.

The KMU consists of 14 undergraduate colleges, several postgraduate schools and 10 professional-technitique schools. As a research university, it offers degrees, scholarships and conferences from Baccalaureate (Bachelor’s degree) to doctorate level. The international rank and reputation are going up.

The Korean Institute of Design Promotion (KIDP) has granted the right of Design Amalgamation Specialised Postgraduate School to the Graduate School of Techno Design for two years. The TeD has been supported by research funds in order to develop the user interface and experience designs.