The University of the Highlands and Islands is a tertiary university composed of Academic Partners which are the 13 colleges and research institutions in the Highlands and Islands of Scotland delivering higher education. Its executive office is in the former Royal Northern Infirmary building in Inverness.

The University of the Highlands and Islands has undergraduate, postgraduate and research programmes which can be studied at a range of locations across the area. There are 9,984 students who are on undergraduate and postgraduate courses and 31,533 further education students. There are 70 learning centres spread around the Highlands and Islands, Moray and Perthshire.

University of the Highlands and Islands has 13 individual colleges and each college/research centre has its own campus in different locations. As colleges offer different programmes, not all courses are available at every campus. Some campuses such as SAMS have tiny student populations all learning the same sort of course, and some campuses such as Inverness College have diverse disciplines. Some UHI colleges have student accommodation on their campuses and some of them do not. Argyll College does not have a single campus; staffed learning centers are located in Oban, Lochgilphead, Helensburgh, Campbeltown, Islay, Dunoon, Rothesay and Arran. Lews Castle College campus is set in 600 acres of parkland beside the principal harbour town of Stornoway. North Highland College UHI has four campuses spread throughout the north of Scotland. There are two campuses in Caithness; main campus in Thurso and one in Wick. NAFC Marine Centre UHI is located on the seafront in the historic village of Scalloway. Moray College UHI has its main campus in the ancient cathedral town of Elgin. The Elgin campus is home to Scotland’s fifth art school and the only one located in a non-urban environment. West Highland College is located in Fort William. Orkney College UHI is principally based in Kirkwall in the Orkney Islands with a second campus in Stromness and learning centres based on the smaller islands. Perth College UHI is situated in the city of Perth on the southern edge of the Highlands of Scotland. The Scottish Association for Marine Science UHI (SAMS UHI) is located on Dunstaffnage bay on the west coast of Scotland, three miles from the seaside town of Oban. Sabhal Mòr Ostaig UHI is situated close to the sea on the southern peninsula of Sleat on the Isle of Skye. Shetland College UHI is on the Shetland Islands to the north of the British mainland.