The University of Suffolk is a public university situated in Suffolk and Norfolk, England. The modern university was established in 2007 as University Campus Suffolk (UCS), the institution was founded as a unique collaboration between the University of East Anglia and the University of Essex. The university’s current name was adopted after it was granted independence in 2016 by the Privy Council and was awarded university status.

The University of Suffolk is spread over four campuses: a central hub in Ipswich, and further campuses which focus on foundation courses which are located in Bury St Edmunds, Lowestoft and Great Yarmouth (the latter in Norfolk, not Suffolk). The university operates six academic faculties and in 2019/20 had 9,565 students. Some 8% of the student body are classed as international students, 53% are classed as mature students, and 66% of the university’s students are female.

The university was ranked in the top 10 for Course and Lecturers in the WhatUni Student Choice Awards 2019.

The current Chancellor of the University of Suffolk is Helen Pankhurst, an appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), as well as a scholar, writer, and the great-granddaughter of Emmeline Pankhurst.

National rankings
Complete (2022) 126
Guardian (2022) 67
Times / Sunday Times (2022) 105 Global Ranking 1527
British Government assessment
Teaching Excellence Framework Bronze