University of Regina

The University of Regina is a public research university located in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada. Founded in 1911 as a private denominational high school of the Methodist Church of Canada, it began an association with the University of Saskatchewan as a junior college in 1925, and was disaffiliated by the Church and fully ceded to the university in 1934; in 1961 it attained degree-granting status as the Regina Campus of the University of Saskatchewan. It became an autonomous university in 1974. The University of Regina has an enrolment of over 15,000 full and part-time students. The university’s student newspaper, The Carillon, is a member of CUP.

The University of Regina is well-reputed for having a focus on experiential learning and offers internships, professional placements and practicums in addition to cooperative education placements in 41 programs. This experiential learning and career-preparation focus was further highlighted when, in 2009 the University of Regina launched the UR Guarantee Program, a unique program guaranteeing participating students a successful career launch after graduation by supplementing education with experience to achieve specific educational, career and life goals. Partnership agreements with provincial crown corporations, government departments and private corporations have helped the University of Regina both place students in work experience opportunities and help gain employment post-study.


The University of Regina has ten faculties and one school that offer a variety of programs at the certificate, diploma, undergraduate and graduate degree levels.

Faculty Overview
Faculty of Arts The U of R’s largest faculty and is home to the social sciences, languages, and humanities. The Faculty of Arts offers the country’s only Police Studies program.
Faculty of Business Administration The Faculty encompasses both the Paul J. Hill School of Business (undergraduate programs) and the Kenneth Levene Graduate School of Business (graduate degree/certificate programs).
Faculty of Education Offers undergraduate and graduate-level level for primary and secondary-level teaching. One of the U of R’s quota (competitive entry) programs.
Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science Engineering programs offered: Electronic Systems Engineering, Environmental Systems Engineering, Industrial Systems Engineering, Petroleum Systems Engineering, and Software Systems Engineering.[46] Students may add a specialization in the following disciplines: Communications Engineering, Controls, Digital Design, Power Electronics, Manufacturing Engineering, and Process Engineering.
Faculty of Media, Arts, and Performance Home to the U of R’s fine and performing arts and art study programs in the arts of visual art, theatre, music, and media production and studies.
Faculty of Graduate Studies & Research Offers masters and doctoral study programs in conjunction with all other faculties.
Faculty of Kinesiology & Health Studies
Faculty of Nursing Accepting its first intake in Fall 2011, offers a degree-track nursing program jointly with SIAST.
Faculty of Science Departments and programs include computer science, math and statistics, geology, biology, physics, chemistry and biochemistry, and actuarial science.
Faculty of Social Work With primary campuses in Regina and Saskatoon, and satellite campuses across Saskatchewan offers practice and research based programs of study.

The University of Regina also has one graduate school, the Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy. It delivers Masters and Doctoral programs in conjunction with the University of Saskatchewan.

The University of Regina also offers a number of pre-professional transfer programs with other universities and professional colleges: Agriculture and Bioresources, Chiropractic, Dentistry, Law, Medicine, Nutrition, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Pharmacy, Physical Therapy, and Veterinary Medicine.[49]

At the centre of a predominantly English speaking campus, La Cité universitaire francophone at the University of Regina offers a wide range of French programs, services and activities. La Cité directs and supports research projects related to francophones in minority situations, as well as unique university-community initiatives that contribute to the development of the Fransaskois community.

Co-operative Education

The University of Regina is the one of the universities with co-operative education in Saskatchewan. Many of the university undergraduate students are enrolled in the co-op program, with the highest percentage being in the faculties of science and engineering. The Faculty of Arts offers an innovative internship program for its undergraduate students.