University of Lucerne

The University of Lucerne is a public university with a campus in Lucerne, Switzerland. 1,460 undergraduates and 1,258 postgraduate students attend the university, which makes it Switzerland’s smallest university.

Despite its size, it holds an international reputation in several areas. For instance, the Institute for Jewish-Christian Research has acquired renown. The university evolved over time: Since the early 17th century, courses in philosophy and theology have been taught in the city. The faculty of Theology was established in 1938, whereas the department of history was founded August 1, 1989. In 1993, the faculty of humanities was established. After a popular vote, the University of Lucerne was established in 2000.

The University of Lucerne has four faculties: Theology, Humanities and Social Sciences, Economy, Law.


  • Centre for Human Resource Management

Humanities and Social Science

Departments of the faculty of Humanities and Social Science:

  • Department of Ethnology
  • Department of History
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department for the Study of Religions
  • Department of Health Sciences and Health Policy

Interdisciplinary Research Institutes and Research Centres

  • Institute of Jewish-Christian Research (IJCF)
  • Centre for Comparative Constitutional Law and Religion (CCCLR)
  • Centre for Religion, Economy and Politics (ZRWP)
  • Centre for Research on Religion


Institutes and research centres of the faculty of Law:

  • Centre for Conflict Resolution (CCR)
  • Research Centre for International and European Private Law (FIP)
  • Institute Lucernaiuris
  • State Attorney Academy
  • Centre for Law and Health (CLH)
  • Centre for Law and Sustainability (CLS)
  • Business Law Institute (IFU-BLI)
  • Lucerne Centre for Social Security Law (LuZeSo)
  • Centre for Logistics and Transport Law (KOLT)


Institutes and research units of the faculty of Theology:

  • Department of Specialized Theological Studies for Students with pastoral experience (DBW)
  • Ecumenical Institute (ÖI)
  • Institute of Social Ethics (ISE)
  • Institute of Religious Education (RPI)
  • Institute of Advanced Training in Practical Theology (IFOK)