The University of Cumbria is a public university in Cumbria, with its headquarters in Carlisle[3][4] and other major campuses in Lancaster, Ambleside, and London. It has roots extending back to the Society for the Encouragement of Fine Arts, established in 1822, and the teacher training college established by Charlotte Mason in the 1890s. It opened its doors in 2007 as a university.

The university has five specialist departmental areas that offer a range of flexible, multidisciplinary courses:

  • Institute of Business, Industry and Leadership
  • Institute of Health
  • Institute of the Arts
  • Institute of Education
  • Institute of Science, Natural Resources and Outdoor Studies

The University of Cumbria provides education in Medical Imaging, Sports Development, Arts, Law, Education, Leadership and Economic Development, Conservation, Forestry, and the Uplands, and Mental Health and Wellbeing, among other subject areas.