Université du Québec en Outaouais

The Université du Québec en Outaouais (UQO) is a constituent university of the Université du Québec system located in Gatineau, Quebec, Canada. As of September 2010, combined enrolment at UQO’s Gatineau and Saint-Jérôme campuses was 6,017, of which 4,738 were undergraduates and 1,279 postgraduate students. UQO offers more than 100 programs of study, including 30 master’s and 5 doctoral programs.

It was named after Quebec’s Outaouais region. Outaouais borders Ottawa and is part of the National Capital Region, where a large proportion of the population is bilingual.

Main programs

UQO is the only university in Canada offering the following programs in French:

  • Certificates:
  • Bachelor’s degrees:
  • Arts and design
  • Arts and heritage with majors and minors
  • Majors:
  • Comic strip design
  • Graphic design
  • Museology and heritage
  • Minors:
  • Approaches to education
  • Visual arts
  • Comic strip design
  • Public communication (Social Sciences minor)
  • Cybermuseology
  • Graphic design
  • Museology and heritage
  • Administrative practices
  • Master of advanced studies (diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées, or DESS) in andragogy
  • Short program in adult second-language and foreign-language instruction – French and Spanish streams