Université de Hearst

Université de Hearst is a Canadian public university with campuses in Hearst, Timmins and Kapuskasing, Ontario. Formerly an affiliated school of Laurentian University in Sudbury, it was rechartered as an independent institution in 2021 following the 2021 Laurentian University financial crisis.


Université de Hearst offers degree programs taught in French in Liberal Arts and such as psychology, business and interdisciplinary studies in Northeastern Ontario‘s Franco-Ontarian community. Furthermore, it serves as a recruiting pool for the region’s elementary and secondary teachers. As of 2016, the university only offers three university degrees.