Tulane University

Tulane University, officially the Tulane University of Louisiana,[6] is a private research university in New OrleansLouisiana. It was founded as a public medical college in 1834 and became a comprehensive university in 1847. The institution became private under the endowments of Paul Tulane and Josephine Louise Newcomb in 1884. Tulane is the 9th oldest private university in the Association of American Universities, which includes major research universities in the United States and Canada. The Tulane University Law School and Tulane University Medical School are, respectively, the 12th oldest law school and 15th oldest medical school in the United States.[7][8] Tulane has been a member of the Association of American Universities since 1958 and is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity”.[9]

Tulane is considered highly selective, with an acceptance rate of 9.73% on all its programs.[10] Alumni include twelve governors of Louisiana; one Chief Justice of the United States; various members of Congress, including a Speaker of the U.S. House; two Surgeons General of the United States;[11][12] 23 Marshall Scholars;[13] 18 Rhodes Scholars;[14] 15 Truman Scholars;[15] 155 Fulbright Scholars;[16] four living billionaires; and a former President of Costa Rica.[17] Two Nobel laureates have been affiliated with the university