Tianjin University

Tianjin University (TJUChinese天津大学) is a national key public research university in Tianjin, China. The university is wholly funded by the Ministry of Education.

Tianjin University is the first modern university to be established in China. It is now a member of the national Double First Class University PlanProject 985, and Project 211.

It was established in 1895 as Imperial Tientsin University (Chinese天津北洋西學學堂) and later Peiyang University (Chinese北洋大學). In 1951, after restructuring, it was renamed Tianjin University, and became one of the largest multidisciplinary engineering universities in China, one of the first 16 national key universities accredited by the nation in 1959.[5] It is now among the first group of institutions of higher learning to be included in the national “Double First Class University Plan” and former ministerial “Project 211” and “Project 985” by which it is given priority in construction. In order to carry out the “21st Century Education Revitalizing Action Plan”, in late 2000 the Ministry of Education and Tianjin Municipality signed an agreement intending to build Tianjin University into a world-class university for the 21st century, including setting up the Excellence League.

University Rankings
Global – Overall
ARWU World 151–200 (2021)
QS World 332 (2022)
QS Employability 301–500 (2020)
THE World 401–500 (2021)
USNWR Global 308 (2022)
Regional – Overall
THE Emerging Economies 32 (2022)
USNWR Asia 49 (2022)
National – Overall
BCUR National 19 (2019)
THE National 16 (2021)