State University of New York at Albany

The State University of New York at Albany, commonly referred to as the University at AlbanySUNY Albany or UAlbany, is a public research university founded in 1844 with campuses in the New York cities of Albany and Rensselaer and the town of Guilderland. Although it was not designated as a flagship campus of SUNY, it is one of the “university centers” of the State University of New York (SUNY) system.[6][7]

The university’s three campuses are the Uptown Campus in Albany and Guilderland, the Downtown Campus in Albany, and the Health Sciences Campus in the city of Rensselaer just across the Hudson River. The university enrolls 17,944 students in nine schools and colleges, which offer 50 undergraduate majors and 125 graduate degree programs.[8] The university’s academic choices include new and emerging fields in public policyhomeland securityglobalizationdocumentary studies, biotechnology, and informatics.

Through the UAlbany and SUNY-wide exchange programs, students have more than 600 study-abroad programs to choose from,[8] as well as government and business internship opportunities in New York’s capital and surrounding region. It is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity”.[9] The research enterprise totaled expenditures of $173 million in fiscal year 2018 and is focused in four areas: social science, public law and policy, life sciences and atmospheric sciences.[10][11]

SUNY Albany offers many cultural benefits, such as a contemporary art museum and the New York State Writers Institute. UAlbany plays a major role in the economic development of the Capital District and New York State.