Southwest Jiaotong University

Southwest Jiaotong University (Chinese: 西南交通大学) is located in national central city Chengdu, Sichuan Province, affiliated to the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China. It’s a national key university co-supported by the Ministry of Education of China, China Railway Corporation, Sichuan Provincial Government and Chengdu City.

SWJTU was founded in 1896 and is one of China ‘s leading engineering universities. Known as the cradle of China’s railway engineers and “the Cornell of the East”, SWJTU is the birthplace of China’s modern education in transportation, mining & metallurgy, and civil engineering. Through its history, the university has adopted different names such as “Imperial Chinese Railway College”, “Tangshan Jiaotong University” and “Tangshan Institute of Railway”.

SWJTU is consistently ranked as one of the top universities in China, placing 181-190 in The Times Higher Education Asia University Rankings 2016 and ranking 161 in The Times Higher Education BRICS & Emerging Economies 2016. It was included as one of the first universities into Double First Class University Plan and former Project 211. To date, SWJTU faculty and alumni have won 57 fellowships to the United States and China National Academy of Sciences. It is a Chinese state Double First Class University.

Schools and Departments

School of Civil Engineering
School of Mechanical Engineering
School of Electrical Engineering
School of Information Science and Technology
School of Economics and Management
School of Foreign Languages
School of Transportation and Logistics
School of Material Science and Engineering
School of Geological Science and Environmental Engineering
School of Architecture
School of Physical Science and Technology
School of Arts and Communications
School of Public Administration
School of Life Sciences and Engineering
School of Mechanics and Engineering
School of Mathematics
School of Political Science
SWJTU-Leeds Joint School
Center for Psychological Research and Counseling
Training Center for Modern Industrial Technology
Department of Physical Education
School of Mao Yisheng
School of Zhan Tianyou
Tangshan Research Institute