ShanghaiTech University

ShanghaiTech University (ShanghaiTech; Chinese: 上海科技大学) is a public research university in Shanghai, China. The university is founded by contracts between the Shanghai Municipal People’s Government and the Chinese Academy of Sciences.

The university has five schools and three research institutes. In 2018, it had 1433 undergraduates, 1788 Master’s and PhD students, and 485 faculty members.

As of 2021, ShanghaiTech University is ranked among the world top 500 universities according to the Academic Ranking of World Universities and the U.S. News & World Report Best Global University Ranking.


The low student-to-faculty ratio of at most 12 to 1 is hoped to ensure teaching quality. When the school opened, it had plans to enroll 2,000 undergraduate students and 4,000 graduate students immediately. In the future, ShanghaiTech aims to host 1000 faculty, including 500 adjunct professors from institutes of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and other universities. The university will then educate 2000 undergraduate and 4000 graduate students (including 3,000 Ph.D. candidates).

ShanghaiTech hosts four nobel laureates. Roger D. Kornberg and Kurt Wüthrich have both been professors, as has James E. Rothman, 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Undergraduate Program

The four year undergraduate program at ShanghaiTech University has 3 semesters (fall, spring and summer) per school year. The summer semester is mainly for course projects, with music and painting courses available.