The School of Advanced Study (SAS), a postgraduate institution of the University of London, is the UK’s national centre for the promotion and facilitation of research in the humanities and social sciences. It was established in 1994 and is based in Senate House, in Bloomsbury, central London, close to the British Museum, British Library and several of the colleges of the University of London. The School brings together nine research institutes, many of which have long histories, to provide a wide range of specialist research services, facilities and resources. It offers taught master’s and research degrees in humanities and social science subjects (MA, MRes, LLM, MPhil, and PhD).

Organisation and Structure

The School of Advanced Study at the Senate House History Day, 2016

The Member Institutes of the School are:

The Institutes of the School provide a range of specialist research services in their subject areas of expertise. In furtherance of their national and international role, the Institutes of the School undertake high-quality research; maintain and develop library collections and services; develop digital resources; publish journals and book series; host visiting scholars and postdoctoral fellows; organise a range of academic events including workshops, conferences, seminars and lectures; provide specialist research training and postgraduate taught, research, and doctoral programmes.


The University of London Press (also known as UoL Press) is based in the School of Advanced Study. Founded in 1910, it was relaunched in 2019 as a fully open access publisher specializing in “distinctive scholarship at the forefront of the Humanities“.