Saint Louis University

Saint Louis University (SLU) is a private Jesuit research university with campuses in St. Louis, MissouriUnited States, and MadridSpain.[2] Founded in 1818 by Louis William Valentine DuBourg,[7] it is the oldest university west of the Mississippi River and the second-oldest Jesuit university in the United States. It is one of 27 member institutions of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities.[8] The university is accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools.[9]

In the 2019–20 academic year, SLU had an enrollment of 12,546 students, with an additional 7,101 students enrolled in its 1818 Advanced College Credit Program. The student body included 8,072 undergraduate students and 4,474 graduate students that represents all 50 states and more than 82 foreign countries.[3] The university is classified as a Research II university by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education.[10]

For more than 50 years, the university has maintained a campus in Madrid, Spain.[11] The Madrid campus was the first freestanding campus operated by an American university in Europe and the first American institution to be recognized by Spain’s higher education authority as an official foreign university. The campus has 850 students, a faculty of 110, an average class size of 17 and a student-faculty ratio of 12:1.[12]

SLU’s athletic teams compete in the National Collegiate Athletic Association‘s Division I and are a member of the Atlantic 10 Conference