Rutgers University (/ˈrʌtɡərz/RU), officially Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is a public land-grant research university consisting of four campuses in New Jersey. Chartered in 1766, Rutgers was originally called Queen’s College, affiliated with the Dutch Reformed Church. It is the eighth-oldest college in the United States, the second-oldest in New Jersey (after Princeton University), and one of the nine U.S. colonial colleges that were chartered before the American Revolution.[10][11] In 1825, Queen’s College was renamed Rutgers College[12] in honor of Colonel Henry Rutgers, whose substantial gift to the school had stabilized its finances during a period of uncertainty.[13] For most of its existence, Rutgers was a private liberal arts college but it has evolved into a coeducational public research university after being designated The State University of New Jersey by the New Jersey Legislature via laws enacted in 1945 and 1956.[14]

Rutgers today has four distinct campuses; Rutgers University–New Brunswick (including grounds in adjacent Piscataway), Rutgers University–NewarkRutgers University–Camden, and Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences. The university has additional facilities elsewhere in the state, including oceanographic research facilities at the New Jersey shore.[15]

Rutgers is a land-grantsea-grant, and space-grant university, as well as the largest university in the state. Instruction is offered by 9,000 faculty members in 175 academic departments to over 45,000 undergraduate students and more than 20,000 graduate and professional students.[6] The university is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools[16] and is a member of the Big Ten Academic Alliance,[17] the Association of American Universities[18] and the Universities Research Association.[19] The Rutgers New Brunswick campus has been considered a Public Ivy.