Northeast Normal University

Northeast Normal University (simplified Chinese: 东北师范大学; traditional Chinese: 東北師範大學; pinyin: Dōngběi Shīfàn Dàxué; often abbreviated NENU or 东北师大) is one of the six national normal universities in the People’s Republic of China, located in Changchun, Jilin province. The university was ranked number 37 in the comprehensive ranking of universities in China in 2013, and listed as a Double First Class University and a former project 211 university. It is a Chinese state Double First Class University Plan university identified by the Ministry of Education of China.

College and departments

  • School of Psychology
  • Faculty of Education
  • School of Politics and Law
  • School of Economics
  • School of Business
  • School of Chinese Language and Literature
  • School of History and Culture
  • School of Foreign Languages
  • School of Music
  • School of Fine Arts
  • School of Mathematics and Statistics
  • School of Computer Science
  • School of Software
  • School of Physics
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Life Science
  • College of Urban and Environmental Science
  • School of Physical Education
  • School of Media Science
  • International Relations Institute and Marxism Research Institute
  • Institute for the History of Ancient Civilizations (IHAC)

NENU comprises 19 schools, 56 undergraduate specialties and a graduate school, which offers 145 M.A. degree specialties, and 77 Ph.D. degree specialties. There are nine faculties authorized to confer doctoral degrees, 11 disciplines with post-doctoral R&D stations, five key disciplines of the National Institution of Higher Education, six disciplines among the construction projects of the key disciplines of the national “Tenth Five-Year Plan” and the “211 Project” and 18 disciplines among the key subject program of Jilin Province.

Three disciplines are personnel training and scientific research bases of the national fundamental disciplines of arts and sciences; two disciplines are among the key research bases for Humanities and Social Sciences of the Ministry of Education; eight laboratories and research centers are authorized by the ministry. In addition, NENU possesses several national training programs and research institutes such as Preparatory School for Chinese Students to Japan (PSCSJ).