Northeast Forestry University

Northeast Forestry University (NEFU; simplified Chinese: 东北林业大学; traditional Chinese: 東北林業大學; pinyin: Dōngběi Línyè Dàxué), located in Harbin, Heilongjiang Province, is an institution of higher education and research under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China. It serves as the largest forestry university in China and a key university within the scope of the national “Double First Class University Plan” and former “211 Project.” It is a Chinese state Double First Class University, identified by the Ministry of Education.

NEFU is presently a multidisciplinary university with forestry as its leading field and offers a unique specialization in forestry engineering. NEFU has also specializes in forestry-related aspects of agriculture, science, engineering, economy, management, liberal arts and law. The university at present is composed of sixteen schools and two departments. There are five post-doctoral scientific research programs, four first-level and thirty-two second-level doctoral degree programs. In addition, there are also ten first-level, seventy-five second-level master’s degree programs, three types of special discipline master’s degree programs in nine fields and fifty-seven undergraduate programs. NEFU has two national first-level key disciplines, two national second-level key disciplines, six key disciplines authorized by the State Forestry Administration, two key discipline groups authorized by Heilongjiang Province, four Heilongjiang Provincial first-level key disciplines, and fifteen Heilongjiang Provincial subordinate key disciplines. With the approval of National Planning Commission and Ministry of Education, NEFU runs the national training centers of life science and technology. In addition, NEFU operates the teaching and research centers of basic sciences particularly in biology, which are also approved by the Ministry of Education.

NEFU has a national scientific observation key station (Maoershan forestry ecological system location station), three key laboratories of Ministry of Education, four key laboratories of the State Forestry Administration, and forty-nine research institutions. There are also nine practice sites within the school, including the Maoershan Experimental Forestry Center and Liangshui Experimental Forestry Center and 180 bases outside the school.