North China Electric Power University

North China Electric Power University (NCEPU; Chinese: 华北电力大学; pinyin: Huáběi Diànlì Dàxué) is a national key university under the Double First Class University Plan and former Project 211 based in Beijing, China under the national Ministry of Education that specialises in polytechnic disciplines. The main campus is located in Beijing, and it has a branch campus in Baoding, Hebei Province. There are about 3,000 full-time faculty and staff, 20,000 undergraduates and 7,000 graduate students in this university. It is a Chinese state Double First Class University, identified by the Ministry of Education.



It has the following departments:

  • Department of Mathematical and Physics Science
  • Department of Electric Power Engineering
  • Department of Thermal Power Engineering
  • Department of Information Engineering
  • Department of Automation
  • Department of Computer Science and Technology
  • Department of Economics and Trade
  • Department of Finance and Accounting
  • Department of Law and Politics
  • Department of Foreign Languages


It has the following Schools:

  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering School
  • Energy and Power Engineering School
  • Renewable Energy School
  • Nuclear Science and Engineering School
  • Economics and Management School
  • School of Control and Computer Engineering
  • Environment Engineering and Science School
  • Human and Social Science School
  • Mathematical and Physical Science School
  • Foreign Language School
  • Science and Technology School

There is one centre for post-doctoral studies . The university offers one post-doctoral project program, 7 doctoral programs, 17 master’s degree programs and 24 bachelor’s degree programs. It has been authorised to admit overseas students. Covering a floor space of 11,000 square metres (120,000 sq ft), the library has a collection of over a one million volumes.

There are five key ministerial subjects, namely power system and its automation, power plant thermal power engineering, theoretical electric engineering, industrial automation and technological economics. Meanwhile, there are three key ministerial laboratories called Power System Intelligence Protection and Control, Industrial Process Simulation and Control, State Monitoring and Fault Diagnosis in Electric Device.