Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications

The Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications (NJUPT or NUPT; simplified Chinese: 南京邮电大学; traditional Chinese: 南京郵電大學; pinyin: Nánjīng Yóudiàn Dàxué) is a public university located in Nanjing, China. It is jointly developed by the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, the State Post Bureau, and the Jiangsu Provincial Government under the Double First Class University Plan.

The Academic Ranking of World Universities ranked NJUPT 601st–700th globally and 95th domestically for 2021, comparable to Baylor University and Syracuse University in the United States, and Liverpool John Moores University in the United Kingdom. The university achieved 24th in the subject of telecommunications engineering and 37th in transportation engineering among world universities.

Schools and Departments

The Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications consists of 16 schools and departments, including:

  • School of Telecommunication and Information Engineering
  • School of Electronic Science & Engineering
  • School of Opto-Electronic Engineering
  • School of Computer Science & Technology
  • School of Software (Compus Net and Computer Centre)
  • School of Automation
  • School of Materials Science & Engineering
  • School of Natural Sciences
  • School of Geography and Biological Information
  • School of Media and Arts
  • School of Economics and Management
  • School of Humanities and Social Science
  • School of Foreign Languages
  • School of Oversea Education
  • Department of Physical Education
  • School of Continuting Education (School of Applied Technology)


NJUPT is a leading institution in a bunch of engineering subjects, such as telecommunications, transportations, electronics, and cybersecurity. Its highest national rank reached 76th in 2019 by the Shanghai Ranking.