Nanjing Normal University

Nanjing Normal University (NNU or NJNU; simplified Chinese: 南京师范大学; traditional Chinese: 南京師範大學; pinyin: Nánjīng Shīfàn Dàxué) is a public research university in Nanjing, China. Founded in 1902 as Sanjiang Normal School, it is one of the oldest and most prestigious higher normal schools in China, and has become a research-intensive comprehensive university co-funded by the Ministry of Education of China and Jiangsu Provincial Government since its separation from Nanjing University in 1952. NNU is a leading National Key University designated by China’s former Project 211, Plan 111, and Double First Class University Plan.

As of 2020, NNU has three campuses in Nanjing, namely Xianlin, Suiyuan, and Zijin. It consists of 28 colleges and schools with an enrollment of 18,369 undergraduates and 12,564 graduate students, including 1,525 doctoral candidates. In the fiscal year 2021, the university acquired six Key Projects from the National Social Science Fund of China, ranking 10th among domestic institutions. NNU is a relatively selective university that only admits domestic students who score in the top 5% (95th percentile) in the National College Entrance Examination.

The 2021 Academic Ranking of World Universities ranked NNU 401st-500th globally.

University Rankings
Global – Overall
ARWU World 401-500 (2021)
CWUR World 646 (2021-22)
CWTS World 498 (2021)
THE World 801–1000 (2021)
Regional – Overall
THE Asia 194 (2021)
National – Overall
BCUR National 47 (2021)
CUAA National 41 (2021)
Wu Shulian National 56 (2021)