Lehigh University (LU) is a private research university in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania in the Lehigh Valley region of the state. It was established in 1865 by businessman Asa Packer.

Lehigh University’s undergraduate programs have been coeducational since the 1971–72 academic year.[4] As of 2019, the university had 5,047 undergraduate students and 1,802 graduate students.[2]

Lehigh has five colleges: the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science, the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business, the College of Education, and the College of Health. The College of Arts and Sciences is the largest, with 35% of the university’s students.[2] The university offers the Bachelor of ArtsBachelor of ScienceMaster of ArtsMaster of ScienceMaster of Business AdministrationMaster of EngineeringMaster of Education, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. It is classified among “R2: Doctoral Universities – High research activity”.[5]

Lehigh alumni and faculty include Nobel Peace Prize Laureates, Pulitzer Prize winners, Fulbright Fellows, members of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences and of the National Academy of SciencesNational Medal of Science winners, and a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.