Leeds Trinity University is a public university in Horsforth, Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. Originally established to provide qualified teachers to Catholic schools, it gradually expanded and now offers foundation, undergraduate, and postgraduate degrees in a range of humanities and social sciences.

Previously known as Leeds Trinity & All Saints, the institution became a university college in 2009 after gaining the right to award its own degrees, and was granted full university status in December 2012. The university is a member of the Cathedrals Group and the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities.

Organisation and Structure

Leeds Trinity is an independent Roman Catholic foundation, and until earning the right to award its own degrees in 2009 was accredited by the University of Leeds.

Overall responsibility for the activities of Leeds Trinity University rests with its Board of Governors. The ex officio Chair of the Board is the Rt Revd. Marcus Stock, Roman Catholic Bishop of Leeds.

The Board delegate the day-to-day management of Leeds Trinity to Professor Charles Egbu (Vice-Chancellor), who is advised by the Executive Team, consisting of Professor Malcolm Todd (Deputy Vice-Chancellor), Professor Catherine O’Connor (Pro Vice-Chancellor for Education and Experience), Phill Dixon (Chief Operating Officer) and David Butcher (Director of Finance and University Secretary).

In addition the Board of Governors delegates oversight of the academic function of the university to the Academic Board. The Vice-Chancellor is an ex officio member of the Board of Governors and the Chairperson of the Academic Board.

The university’s Chancellor, installed on 15 June 2018, is actor and playwright.