Lanzhou University

Lanzhou University (simplified Chinese: 兰州大学; traditional Chinese: 蘭州大學; pinyin: Lánzhōu Dàxué) is a major research university in Lanzhou, Gansu, China. Founded in 1909, it is one of the key universities under China’s Ministry of Education (Double First Class University Plan, former Project 985 and Project 211). It is a Chinese state Class A Double First Class University identified by the Ministry of Education of China.

It provides programs for undergraduate, graduate students on four campuses—three in Lanzhou city centre and one in Yuzhong County, about 30 miles away from the main campus. Total enrolment compromises of approximately 20,000 undergraduates, 10,572 graduates, 2,559 doctoral students, and about 700 registered international students from 64 countries and regions across 5 continents. Undergraduate students study at the Yuzhong campus. There are 6 National Bases for the Training of Researching and Teaching personnel for Fundamental Disciplines. The University operates an additional 35 institutes along with 1 national key Laboratory of the Applied Organic and 3 key laboratories of Arid and Grassland Ecology, West China Environment, Magnetism and Magnetic Materials of the Ministry of Education, a key laboratory of Grassland Agro-ecosystem of the Ministry of Agriculture. Lanzhou University was one of the first universities entitled to enroll Bachelor Master’s and Doctoral degree candidates in 1981. Lanzhou University is one of the top ten universities in contributions to academic publications in international journals frequently cited by ongoing research from around the world, ranking the 26th among all Chinese Universities in number of citations per paper.

University Rankings
Global – Overall
ARWU World 301-400 (2021)
USNWR Global 595 (2021)
Regional – Overall
USNWR Asia 114 (2021)
National – Overall
BCUR National 39 (2021)
USNWR National 48 (2021)