Keele University, officially known as the University of Keele,is a public research university in Keele, approximately three miles (4.8 km) from Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire, England. Keele was granted university status by Royal Charter in 1962 and was founded in 1949 as the University College of North Staffordshire.

Keele occupies a 625-acre (253 ha) rural campus close to the village of Keele and consists of extensive woods, lakes and Keele Hall set in Staffordshire Potteries. It has a science park and a conference centre, making it the largest campus university in the UK. The university’s School of Medicine operates the clinical part of its courses from a separate campus at the Royal Stoke University Hospital. The School of Nursing and Midwifery is based at the nearby Clinical Education Centre.

Faculties, departments and schools

Keele’s academic activities are organised into the following 3 faculties and schools:

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences[72] Faculty of Natural Sciences[73] Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences[74]
  • School of Humanities
  • Keele Business School
  • School of Law
  • School of Social, Political and Global Studies
  • School of Computing & Mathematics
  • School of Life Sciences
  • School of Geography, Geology and the Environment
  • School of Chemical & Physical Sciences
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Veterinary Sciences

All Keele’s courses, with the exception of Medicine and Pharmacy, are modular, with the academic year divided into two semesters, with breaks at Christmas and Easter. There are approximately 14 students to every member of staff.