Henan University

Henan University (simplified Chinese: 河南大学; traditional Chinese: 河南大學; pinyin: Hénán Dàxué) is one of the oldest public and Double First Class Universities in China. It was founded in 1912. In the beginning, its name was the Preparatory School for Further Study in Europe and America. In 1942, its name was changed to National Henan University. After the People’s Republic of China was founded, the name Henan University was restored in 1984.

Henan University is a comprehensive university with 12 branches of learning: agriculture, economics, education, engineering, history, law, liberal arts, management, medicine, philosophy and science. In 2016, the University was selected in the Plan 111, a key project initiated by the Chinese Ministry of Education. In 2017, it is included in the Chinese state Double First Class University Plan and approved as a Double First Class University.

By the end of 2018, Henan University had three campuses. Two campuses (Minglun and JinMing campus) are located in Kaifeng, a famous historic city which was the capital of China during seven different dynasties. The other (Longzi Lake campus) is located in Zhengzhou, the capital of Henan Province and one of the National Central Cities in China. All the campuses cover a total area of 2,200,000 square meters with a room space of 1,470,000 square meters. More than 50,000 students receive a full-time education here, including 10,000 postgraduates and nearly 500 overseas students. Henan University is one of the biggest public universities in the People’s Republic of China.

The status of Henan University on some of the world university rankings is as follows. Henan University is ranked 701th to 800th among all universities in the world according to Academic Ranking of World Universities 2021. The US News & World Report Best Global University Ranking 2022 places Henan University at 1007.