Guangxi University

Guangxi University (simplified Chinese: 广西大学; traditional Chinese: 廣西大學; pinyin: Guǎngxī Dàxué), known as Xida (Chinese: 西大; pinyin: Xī Dà), is a provincial research university located in Nanning, Guangxi and the oldest and largest university in the Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. The university helped pioneer higher education in central and southwestern China, where its faculty, students, and resources contributed to the creation of over 20 universities and academic departments during the mid 20th century. The university grants bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees across 27 colleges and departments and 98 undergraduate majors.

Established in 1928, the university was broken up during national education reforms in the 1950s. Its departments were relocated across China to create or bolster numerous other institutions including Wuhan University, Sun Yat-sen University, and Guangxi Normal University. Xida was re-established in 1958, and by 1995 the university was being recognized at the national level as a member of Double First Class University Plan and former Project 211, government funding initiatives to elevate research and faculty hiring standards for a select group of rising Chinese universities.

In 2017, Guangxi University was selected as a beneficiary of the Double First Class University Plan, with Double First Class funding awarded to the Department of Civil Engineering which the Chinese government seeks to elevate to “world-class” status. Four disciplines in engineering, agricultural science, and material science have been ranked in the Global Top 1% according to the Thompson Reuters InCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI).