Falmouth University (Cornish: Pennskol Aberfal) is a specialist public university for the creative industries based in Falmouth and Penryn, Cornwall, England. Founded as the Falmouth School of Art in 1902, it was previously known as Falmouth College of Art and Design and then Falmouth College of Arts until 2012, when the university college was officially granted full university status by the Privy Council.

The university is located in Penryn and Falmouth. Penryn Campus, near the town of Penryn, is the larger of its two campuses, which it operates in partnership with the University of Exeter. The Falmouth campus is in Falmouth town centre. Falmouth has about 7,000 students, offering undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.

Organisation and Governance

Falmouth University sign at Woodlane, by Falmouth Campus

The university is currently made up of several schools of study.

  • The Falmouth School of Art
  • Academy for Innovation and Research
  • The Academy of Music and Theatre Arts
  • The Institute of Fashion and Textiles
  • The Institute of Photography
  • The School of Communication Design
  • The School of Film and television
  • The School of Writing and Journalism
  • The School of Architecture, Design and Interiors
  • The Games Academy

The Academy of Music and Theatre Arts (AMATA) was created following the merger with Dartington College of Arts in 2008. In 2012 a new school was added known as the Academy for Innovation and Research allowing the college to offer research degrees.