Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) is a private research university based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Founded in 1900, the university is the result of a merger of the Carnegie Institute of Technology and the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research. Established by Andrew Carnegie as the Carnegie Technical Schools, the university became the Carnegie Institute of Technology in 1912 and began granting four-year degrees. In 1967, the Carnegie Institute of Technology merged with the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research, formerly a part of the University of Pittsburgh.[10] Since then, the university has operated as a single institution.

The university has seven colleges and independent schools, including the College of EngineeringCollege of Fine ArtsDietrich College of Humanities and Social SciencesMellon College of ScienceTepper School of BusinessHeinz College of Information Systems and Public Policy, and the School of Computer Science.[11][12] The university has its main campus located 5 miles (8 km) from Downtown Pittsburgh, and the university also has over a dozen degree-granting locations in six continents, including degree-granting campuses in Qatar and Silicon Valley.[13]

CMU is classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very High Research Activity”.[14] In 2020, the university had research and development (R&D) expenditures of $386 million.[15] Past and present faculty and alumni include 20 Nobel Prize laureates, 13 Turing Award winners, 26 Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, 39 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 91 Members of the National Academies, 142 Emmy Award winners, 52 Tony Award laureates, and 12 Academy Award winners.[16] Carnegie Mellon enrolls 15,818 students across its multiple campuses from 117 countries, employs more than 1,400 faculty members, and has an active alumni base of over 112,000.[17]