Bishop’s University

Bishop’s University is a small English-language liberal arts university in Lennoxville, a borough of Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada. The founder of the institution was the Anglican Bishop of Quebec, George Mountain, who also served as the first principal of McGill University. It is one of three universities in the province of Quebec that teach primarily in English (the others being McGill University and Concordia University, both in Montreal). It began its foundation by absorbing the Lennoxville Classical School as Bishop’s College School in the 1840s. The college was formally founded in 1843 and received a royal charter from Queen Victoria in 1853.

It remains one of Canada’s few primarily undergraduate universities, functioning in the way of an American liberal arts college, and is linked with three others in the Maple League. Established in 1843 as Bishop’s College, the school used to be affiliated with the University of Oxford in 1853, where many professors at BU were appointed from. The school remained under the Anglican church’s direction from its founding until 1947. Since that time, the university has been a non-denominational institution. Bishop’s University has graduated fifteen Rhodes Scholars.

Like other liberal arts colleges in North America, it does not participate in rankings which are primarily based on research, such as QS. However, Bishop’s ranked number one in Canada for student satisfaction for three continuous years, and ranked 7th in Canadian primarily undergraduate universities by Maclean’s magazine. The university shares a campus with its neighbor, Champlain College Lennoxville, an English-language public college.


Academic Programs

Primarily undergraduate, Bishop’s University also offers graduate courses and M.A. and M.Ed. degrees in education and M.Sc. in computer science and physics. Bishop’s offers several programs from five academic divisions:

Bishop Williams Hall

Each division seeks to provide a well-rounded education for all its students. The average class size as of fall 2017 was 34.7 in first- and second-year courses and 18.9 in upper-year courses.

In 2004, Bishop’s joined the Université de Sherbrooke in creating SIXtron, a joint spin-off of technology based in Montreal which is focused on developing highly scalable and cost-effective, amorphous silicon carbide (SiC)-based thin film coatings for the solar industry.

In 2009, the Psychological Health and Well-Being Laboratory was founded as an initiative to produce and share knowledge regarding how to enhance the psychological health and well-being of individuals and the communities that they live in. The research cluster is headed by Dr. Heather Lawford. It is one of four research clusters, the others examining Social and Cultural Identities; climate change; and astrophysics.

As of 2018, Bishop’s had a total of 2,867 students. The student body represents every Canadian province and territory along with 18 U.S. states and more than 50 countries.

Williams School of Business

The Williams School of Business is the business school at Bishop’s University. It is accredited under the Network of International Business Schools (NIBS) and claims multiple first place victories in international business case competitions. It offers courses through a bachelor of business administration (BBA) or Bachelor of Arts (BA) major in business. A cooperative education program is also offered. Approximately 22% of Bishop’s University students are enrolled in the Williams School of Business.

The Williams School of Business offers the following concentrations under the BBA: