Beijing University of Chemical Technology

Beijing University of Chemical Technology (simplified Chinese: 北京化工大学; traditional Chinese: 北京化工大學; pinyin: Běijīng Huàgōng Dàxué) (BUCT), colloquially known in Chinese as Beihua (北化, Běihuà) or Huada (化大, Huàdà), is a public technological university in mainland China. BUCT was founded in 1958 and is a part of the Ministry of Education. As a member university of the Double First Class University Plan and Project 211, BUCT has developed from an institution of scientific specialties to a more comprehensive university, with a curriculum including liberal arts. It is a Chinese state Double First Class University identified by the Ministry of Education of China.


Covering an area of 64.4 hectares, the university is composed of three campuses:

  • East campus (headquarters): located on the eastern section of the North Third Ring Road, southeast of the Asian Games Village.
  • West campus: On the central section of the West Third Ring Road.
  • North campus: locates in Changping, near Lake Shisanling. Most of the North campus had been sold to China University of Petroleum while the remaining will be the dormitory for the staff, since the new North campus, a.k.a. Nankou campus, is a little bit more far from the East campus and requires additional dorm for staff.
  • Nankou campus: locates in Changping, about 5 km from the Changping Xishankou station of Beijing Subway Changping line. Near the Institute of Nuclear Energy Technology, Tsinghua University.

Undergraduates at BUCT spend their first three years at the Nankou campus and then transfer to the East section for the fourth year. Some of the postgraduates at BUCT spend their first year at the north campus.

The east campus is designated for all postgraduate students.