Arizona State University (Arizona State or ASU) is a public research university[9] in the Phoenix metropolitan area.[10] Founded in 1885 by the 13th Arizona Territorial Legislature, ASU is one of the largest public universities by enrollment in the U.S.[11]

One of three universities governed by the Arizona Board of Regents, ASU is a member of the Universities Research Association and classified among “R1: Doctoral Universities – Very High Research Activity”. ASU has nearly 150,000[4] students attending classes, with more than 38,000[4] students attending online, and 90,000[4] undergraduates and more nearly 20,000[4] postgraduates across its five campuses and four regional learning centers throughout Arizona.[4][12] ASU offers 350 degree options from its 17 colleges and more than 170 cross-discipline centers and institutes for undergraduates students, as well as more than 400 graduate degree and certificate programs.[13] The Arizona State Sun Devils compete in 26 varsity-level sports in the NCAA Division I Pac-12 Conference and is home to over 1,100 registered student organizations.[14]

As of January, 2022, ASU reported that its faculty of more than 4,700 scholars[4] included 5 Nobel laureates, 6 MacArthur Fellows, 9 Pulitzer Prize winners, 9 National Academy of Engineering members, 23 National Academy of Sciences members, 26 American Academy of Arts and Sciences members, 40 Guggenheim fellows, 149 National Endowment for the Humanities fellows, and 270 Fulbright Program American Scholars.[15]